Nobel Peace Prize winners 2014 announce

2014 Nobel Peace Prize winners announce

The 2014 Nobel Peace Prize awarded on 10/10/2014 Friday to India's Kailash Satyarthi and Pakistan's Malala Yousafzai for their struggles against the suppression of children and for young people's rights including the right to education.

Yousafzai came to global attention after she was shot in the head by the Taliban, two years ago for her efforts to promote education for girls in Pakistan. After recovering from surgery, she has taken her campaign to the world stage, notably with a speech last year at the United Nations.

According to the Nobel committee, at age of 17, she is the youngest ever peace prize winner.

Yousafzai said that the award is a "great honor for me," and "I am proud that I'm the first Pakistani and the first young woman, youngest person to win the Nobel Peace Prize," she said in Birmingham, England.